Homepage News Home
The original item was published from 10/25/2016 11:01:00 AM to 10/25/2016 11:02:53 AM.

Homepage News

Press Releases

Posted on: October 21, 2016

[ARCHIVED] The Washington Association of County Officials elects new Board of Trustees

OLYMPIA – The Washington Association of County Officials (WACO) has announced the election of Pend Orielle County Clerk Tammie Ownbey as President of the association. In addition, WACO members have elected two new members to the Board of Trustees.

At their annual conference and business meeting, the Washington Association of County Officials held elections for the Board of Trustees. Pend Orielle County Treasurer Terri Miller was selected to represent county treasurers as a trustee. Douglas County Auditor Thad Duvall was also elected to serve a two-year trustee at large term.

During its annual business meeting WACO members elected Tammie Ownbey, Pend Orielle County Clerk, to a one year term as the Washington Association of County Officials President. Ownbey had previously served as Vice-President. As WACO President, Ownbey will lead the organization serving over 250 separately elected officials in all 39 of Washington’s counties in legislative, education and communications efforts across a broad spectrum of subjects.

Following the election, Yakima County Treasurer Ilene Thomson will take over as Vice-President; while former Secretary/Treasurer, Lewis County Assessor Dianne Dorey will become 2nd Vice-President of the organization. Kittitas County Auditor Jerry Pettit was elected Secretary/Treasurer for a one-year term.

The membership of the Washington Association of County Officials includes elected county assessors, auditors, clerks, coroners and medical examiners, prosecuting attorneys, sheriffs, treasurers and comparable appointed officials in charter counties. WACO is a non-profit, nonpartisan organization. WACO is comprised of affiliate organizations for every county official in Washington's 39 counties. These affiliate associations meet throughout the year, bringing colleagues together to discuss issues of common interest and to exchange ideas and opinions.

The Washington Association of County Officials Board of Trustees consists of 19 positions: the President, Vice-President, 2nd Vice-President, Secretary/Treasurer, the 2 most recent Past-Presidents, 1 member chosen by their respective affiliate (known as a Trustee) and 6 positions as Trustees-at-Large based on their county population.

Facebook Twitter Email