Homepage News Home
The original item was published from 7/17/2019 10:47:00 AM to 7/17/2019 1:58:26 PM.

Homepage News

Press Releases

Posted on: July 18, 2019

[ARCHIVED] 02-2019 The Washington Counties Scholarship Fund to Accept Appliactions March 1

OLYMPIA – The Washington Association of County Officials has announced the five individuals to receive the 2019/20 Washington counties Scholarship Fund award.

The Washington Association of County Officials administers the scholarship. The scholarship awards five eligible dependents of county employees or elected officials $3,000 annually. To date the organizations have awarded over $250,000 to deserving individuals.

"We are very excited to see so many high achieving individuals from geographically diverse parts of the state win this year," says Washington Association of County Officials interim Executive Director Jennifer Wallace, "It is a testament to the hard work and ambition of students throughout the state."

This year's recipients are Adah Barenburg, Island County; Brett Ferguson, Walla Walla County; Devin Hunt, Stevens County; Anika Parker, Mason County; and Danika Peterson, Grays Harbor County. An additional $1,625 award of merit was given to Thea Seitz, San Juan County, by a vote of the Washington Association of County Officials' Board of Trustees and selected by the scholarship panel.

About the students:

Adah Barenburg is a current Western Washington University studying political science. Adah is the daughter of Island County Environmental Health Specialist/Land Use Coordinator Clea Barenburg.

Brett Ferguson is a Walla Walla High School graduate who is pursuing an education in engineering beginning at Walla Walla Community College. Brett is the son of Walla Walla Community Health worker Jodi Ferguson.

Devin Hunt is a Collville High School graduate currently studying biology and biochemistry at the University of Montana. Devin is the son of Stevens County environmental public health employee Bryan Hunt.

Anika Parker is a Shelton High School graduate who is pursuing a degree in microbiology at the University of Washington Anika is the son of Mason County Housing & Behavioral Health Program Coordinator Todd Paker.

Danika Peterson is a Montesano High School graduate who is pursuing a degree in nursing from St Martins University. Danika is the daughter of Grays Harbor County employee Kelly Peterson-Lalka.

Thea Seitz is a Friday Harbor High School graduate studying biology at the University of Puget Sound. Thea is the daughter of San Juan County Aging and Family Case Coordinator Gail Leschine-Seitz.


Facebook Twitter Email